v0.0.1 | hello world

v0.0.1 | hello world

I will be formatting the devlog titles like-so: v0.0.0 | title. The first half will describe the game's current version/state with the second half being the title of the post.

Welcome to the first entry of my devlog for Mighty Vertical. I'm basically going to post updates and things I find or learn throughout the process of trying to make a complete game to publish. By a complete game I mostly mean that it is in a state where it is playable (minimal bugs hopefully), and hit some project goals.

I am mostly thinking to narrow the scope of the game so that it isn't an overwhelming process, but also make it a more digestable project. Breaking things down into smaller pieces in order to accomplish tasks is sometimes the only way I am able to do things, so I am going to use that for this gamedev project.

The plan is whenever I work on the game, I will make a post about the progress I made during that session. Sometimes there will be a lot to add or I'll encounter bugs that'll slow me down. In any case I will try to document the process and maybe it will be helpful to someone else.


Currently, the game is in the earliest stages of development. Most of the file/folder structure is in place. Today I worked on adding a placeholder image for the player sprite. I added a snippet of code I wrote previously that adds controller support.

After I imported that module I ran into some small issues where the image wasn't loading and I was getting an error. Only to realize I needed this: require "entities/player" instead of this: player = require "entities/player". Once I fixed that minor bug the movement of the player sprite was good-to-go.

However, I will need to revise the controller module at some point since if you press all of the buttons, you still move. That's not really the intention of the movement lol. So that will just get added to the list of things to do.

At some point, I will also make a blog post with a bunch of resources and stuff that I'm using. Or any other helpful resource I might find involving programming/gamedev.

Thanks for reading. Here's a screenshot of the game currently:

v0.0.1 gamestate screenshot